Strongman Winter Warriors

Strongman Winter Warriors took place at Ballynahinch Community Centre. where 15 of the strongest men were gathered to claim 10 places at the All Ireland Final in Bangor 8th April 2019. The first event was the farmers walk (125KG) in each hand. This event was dominated by the “Giant” Sean O’Hagan who blasted 30m in 12.04 secs. The comeback of Jonathan Kelly was impressive with a time of 15.14 secs to claim second. The current Republic of Ireland champion, Ivan Gannon missed the turn and dropped massive points in this event. The second event was the 110KG for reps. This saw Dean Doyle of Co.Wexford win the event with 11 reps. While Sean O’Hagan only managed 6 reps to claim joint 7th in that event. The consistency of Jonathan Kelly and Phil Morgan saw them leading the race for the title. The third event was the deadlift for reps. Impressive performances by Gavin Redmond and David Jones with 7 & 8 reps respectfully but again it was Sean O’Hagan who bounced back with 12 reps. The fourth event was the 115KG stone to the shoulder (as seen on the Arnold Classic). This event saw David Jones, Ivan Gannon and Sean O’Hagan share the points with 5 reps each. This meant Sean had a comfortable lead going into the final event. However, his nearest rival was Phil Morgan with a good tyre flip could see him champion. The last event was the tyre flip. Phil Morgan gave everything but it wasn’t enough and he couldn’t manage a rep. Sean O’Hagan took advantage of this and won the event with 5 reps in 55.60 secs. Excellent show of strength from Sean O’Hagan. He lifted the Leslie Steele trophy and walks into Ireland’s Strongest Man 2019 as one of the favourites for the title.


Sean O’Hagan- Leslie Steele trophy and Ulster’s Strongest Man

Gavin Redmond- Republic of Ireland Strongest Man and 110KG Ireland Strongest Man

Chris McNaughton- Novice Ireland Strongest Man

Phil Morgan- Master Ireland Strongest Man

Dean Kennedy- 95KG Ireland Strongest Man

Event 1- Farmers Walk

1Sean O’Hagan12.04 secs15
2Jonathan Kelly15.14 secs14
3Phil Morgan17.00 secs13
4Chris McNaughton17.66 secs12
5Dale Winters17.75 secs11
6Gavin Redmond18.56 secs10
7Gerhard Buckley20.71 secs9
8David Jones23.50 metres8
9Dean Doyle20.46 metres7
10Dean Kennedy14.90 metres6
11Barry Webb12.69 metres5
12Ivan Gannon12 metres3
12Matthew McCoy12 metres3
12Kieran Neary12 metres3
15Dillion Doyle8.48 metres1

Event 2- Log for Reps

1Dean Doyle111522
2Jonathan Kelly91327
2Phil Morgan91326
2Ivan Gannon91316
5Chris McNaughton810.522.5
5Dale Winters810.521.5
7Sean O’Hagan6621
7Gavin Redmond6616
7David Jones6614
7Dean Kennedy6612
7 Matthew McCoy669
7Dillion Doyle667
13Gerhard Buckley5514
14Barry Webb005
15Kieran Neary003

Event 3- Deadlift for Reps

PositionNameRepsPointsOverall Points
1Sean O’Hagan121536
2Chris McNaughton111436.5
3Matthew McCoy101322
4Ivan Gannon91228
5David Jones81125
6Phil Morgan79.535.5
6Gavin Redmond79.525.5
8Dean Doyle67.529.5
8Jonathan Kelly67.534.5
10Gerhard Buckley3620
11Dale Winters24.526
11Dean Kennedy24.516.5
13Kieran Neary136
14Dillion Doyle007
14Barry Webb005

Event 4- Stone to the shoulder

PositionNameRepsPointsOverall Points
1Sean O’Hagan51450
1Ivan Gannon51442
1David Jones51439
4Phil Morgan41146.5
4Gavin Redmond41136.5
4Dale Winters41137
7Chris McNaughton37.544
7Matthew McCoy37.529.5
7Dean Doyle37.537
7Jonathan Kelly37.542
11Gerhard Buckley1424
11Kieran Neary1410
11Dillion Doyle1411
14Dean Kennedy0016.5
14Barry Webb005

Event 5- Tyre Flip

PositionNameFlipsPointsOverall PointsO/Pos
1Sean O’Hagan5-55.60 secs15651
2Gavin Redmond 41450.53
3Chris McNaughton312562
3Dale Winters312496
3Matthew McCoy31241.59
6Ivan Gannon17.549.54
6Jonathan Kelly17.549.55
6Dean Doyle17.544.58
6Gerhard Buckley17.531.511
6Dean Kennedy17.52412
6Kieran Neary17.517.513
13David Jones003910
13Dillion Doyle001114
13Barry Webb00515

About The Author

Upcoming Events


Like Us on facebook


About Us

Since it's formation in July 2000, the Irish Strength Association have gone from strength to strength, boasting over 140 members, many of whom have competed in the highest levels of Strongest Man,Arm-wrestling and Highland games competitions. Mission: To be the strongest on the planet!

Latest News

UK’s Strongest Man 2021 RESULTS
Gavin Bilton becomes the first man to win consecutive UK’s Strongest Man titles after greatest like Glenn Ross and Eddie Hall. After 3 days of competition it was the Welsh Bull who carried out his game plan to defending his crown. Throughout the quarter finals and semi finals Gavin was tactical conserving energy for the
On Sunday 15th August in Bangor Co.Down was the grand final of Ireland’s Strongest Man 2021.  16 of the strongest men were gathered who earned their place from a qualifier prior to the contest.  Unfortunately, the defending champion Matthew McCoy was unable to attend due to an illness.  However, this was still an incredible line
Jack Harkin Wins the Qualifier for Ireland’s Strongest Man 2021
The contest found the remainder of the All Ireland Finalists to make a 16 man line up joining the likes of Matthew McCoy, Ivan Gannon, Pa O’Dwyer, Matthew McKeegan and Peter Bremmer to see who will win this historic crown.  This contest also was for Republic of Ireland, Ulster, 95KG, & 110KG and Novice/Junior/Master Strongest
Ireland’s Strongest Man Qualifier 2021
The Ireland’s Strongest Man Qualifier will take place on Sunday 25th July at 12 Noon in Davey Jones’ Unit, 10-13 Hebron Business Park, Kilkenny.     To enter the competition and have your chance to compete against the best in Ireland complete the membership form.  ISA – ANNUAL APPLICATION FORM 2021 | Irish Strong Man  
Matthew McCoy win Ireland’s Strongest Man 2020
First UK’s Strongest Man 2021 Tour Qualifier for MK Stadium on 29th-31st May 2021 event was held in Bangor County Down. A great competition and we thank Ards and North Down Borough Council for their support. The event was filmed for RTE 2, Ch5 and was live streamed on our page by one of our

Book Event


If you would like to get book an event please click here to message us directly or use any of the methods below.