Strongman Results For World Champions & Modern Day Legends

Most championships In World Strongest Man

Mariusz Pudzianowski Poland52002, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2008
Žydrūnas Savickas Lithuania42009, 2010, 2012, 2014
Magnús Ver Magnússon Iceland41991, 1994, 1995, 1996
Jón Páll Sigmarsson Iceland41984, 1986, 1988, 1990
Bill Kazmaier United States31980, 1981, 1982
Brian Shaw United States22011, 2013
Jouko Ahola Finland21997, 1999
Geoff Capes United Kingdom21983, 1985
Bruce Wilhelm United States21977, 1978


Official results – top three places


YearChampionRunner-Up3rd PlaceLocation
2014Lithuania Žydrūnas SavickasIceland Hafþór Júlíus BjörnssonUnited States Brian ShawUnited States Los Angeles, California
2013United States Brian ShawLithuania Žydrūnas SavickasIceland Hafþór Júlíus BjörnssonChina Sanya, China
2012[19]Lithuania Žydrūnas SavickasLithuania Vytautas LalasIceland Hafþór Júlíus BjörnssonUnited States Los Angeles, California
2011United States Brian ShawLithuania Žydrūnas SavickasUnited Kingdom Terry HollandsUnited States Wingate, North Carolina
2010Lithuania Žydrūnas Savickas[20]United States Brian ShawRussia Mikhail KoklyaevSouth Africa Sun City, South Africa
2009Lithuania Žydrūnas SavickasPoland Mariusz PudzianowskiUnited States Brian ShawMalta Valletta, Malta
2008Poland Mariusz PudzianowskiUnited States Derek PoundstoneUnited States Dave OstlundUnited States Charleston, West Virginia
2007Poland Mariusz PudzianowskiPoland Sebastian WentaUnited Kingdom Terry HollandsUnited States Anaheim, California
2006United States Phil PfisterPoland Mariusz PudzianowskiUnited States Don PopeChina Sanya, China
2005Poland Mariusz PudzianowskiUnited States Jesse MarundeCanada Dominic FiliouChina Chengdu, China
2004Ukraine Vasyl VirastyukLithuania Žydrūnas SavickasSweden Magnus SamuelssonThe Bahamas Nassau, Bahamas
2003Poland Mariusz PudzianowskiLithuania Žydrūnas SavickasUkraine Vasyl VirastyukZambia Victoria Falls, Zambia
2002Poland Mariusz PudzianowskiLithuania Žydrūnas SavickasLatvia Raimonds BergmanisMalaysia Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2001Norway Svend KarlsenSweden Magnus SamuelssonFinland Janne VirtanenZambia Victoria Falls, Zambia
2000Finland Janne VirtanenNorway Svend KarlsenSweden Magnus SamuelssonSouth Africa Sun City, South Africa
1999Finland Jouko AholaFinland Janne VirtanenNorway Svend KarlsenMalta Valletta, Malta
1998Sweden Magnus SamuelssonFinland Jouko AholaNetherlands Wout ZijlstraMorocco Tangier, Morocco
1997Finland Jouko AholaDenmark Flemming RasmussenSweden Magnus SamuelssonUnited States Primm Valley Resort, Nevada
1996Iceland Magnús Ver MagnússonFinland Riku KiriSouth Africa Gerrit Badenhorst

In 1987 the WSM was not held for the only time since its inception. In that year the first and only non-team Pure Strength competition was held. Although it was not part of the WSM franchise, some commentators regard it as a replacement for WSM in that year and the great Jon Pall Sigmarsson of Iceland was the victor!


Most top three places

9Lithuania Žydrūnas Savickas
7Iceland Jón Páll Sigmarsson
7Poland Mariusz Pudzianowski
6United Kingdom Geoff Capes
Iceland Magnús Ver Magnússon
5United States Bill Kazmaier
United States Brian Shaw
Sweden Magnus Samuelsson


Most times qualified for WSM: Sweden Magnus Samuelsson – 13 times

Most WSM finals: Sweden Magnus Samuelsson – 10 times

Most consecutive WSM finals: England Terry Hollands – 9 times (2006-2014)

Most times WSM top 5 placings:, Lithuania Žydrūnas Savickas, – 9 times


Championships by country


 United States97824
 United Kingdom42713
 South Africa0112

Trophy Glenn
UK’s Strongest Man

YearChampionRunner-Up3rd PlaceLocationPromoter
2014[5]England Eddy HallEngland Adam BishopScotland Luke StoltmanNorthern Ireland BelfastUKSC(UK STRENGTH COUNCIL)
2013[6]England Eddy HallEngland Ben KelseyNorthern Ireland Jonathan KellyNorthern Ireland BelfastUKSC
2012[7]England Eddy HallEngland Lloyd RenalsEngland Chris GearingNorthern Ireland BelfastUKSC
2011[7]England Eddy HallScotland Ken NowickiWales Richard SmithNorthern Ireland BelfastUKSC
2010[8]Northern Ireland Glenn RossEngland Gary GardenerEngland Rob FramptonNorthern Ireland BelfastUKSC
2009[8]England Jimmy MarkuNorthern Ireland Glenn RossEngland Mark WestabyNorthern Ireland BelfastUKSC
2008[8]Northern Ireland Glenn RossRepublic of Ireland Dave WarnerEngland Jimmy MarkuNorthern Ireland BelfastUKSC
2007[8]Northern Ireland Glenn RossEngland Jimmy MarkuEngland Simon FlintNorthern Ireland BelfastUKSC
2006[8]Northern Ireland Glenn RossEngland Terry HollandsEngland Jimmy MarkuNorthern Ireland BelfastUKSC
2005[8]England Terry HollandsEngland Mark LawsonEngland Simon MortonNorthern Ireland BelfastUKSC
2004[8]Northern Ireland Glenn RossNorthern Ireland Brian IrwinRepublic of Ireland Carl WaitoaNorthern Ireland CarrickfergusUKSC

About The Author

Upcoming Events


Like Us on facebook


About Us

Since it's formation in July 2000, the Irish Strength Association have gone from strength to strength, boasting over 140 members, many of whom have competed in the highest levels of Strongest Man,Arm-wrestling and Highland games competitions. Mission: To be the strongest on the planet!

Latest News

Strongman Winter Warriors 2
Massive thankyou to everyone involved in the “Harrison Contracts Winter Warriors 2” . Was a great show, a very high standard and was delighted to host the 20th Ulster and Republic Ireland Strongest Man trophies, 95kg and 110kg class ISM trophies with the strongest field to date…Lets not forget the overall winner Matthew McKeegan, who
Ultimate Strongman are proud to have 3 Christmas episodes for all strength fans to enjoy on Channel 5. UK’s Strongest Man 2019 will be on from Wednesday 27th-Friday 29th November at 7pm.  Make sure you tune into these blockbuster programmes to make the best sport in the world grow bigger and better in 2020!  If
  Qualified Athletes The Ireland’s Strongest Man Final is not far away, with athlete preparation in full swing this year is wide open for the title of Ireland’s Strongest Man 2019. With the current Ireland’s Strongest Man and UK’s Strongest Man Pa O’Dwyer looking in the best shape of his life, he will be hard
The Ireland’s Strongest Man Final is not far away, with athlete preparation in full swing this year is wide open for the title of Ireland’s Strongest Man 2019. With the current Ireland’s Strongest Man and UK’s Strongest Man Pa O’Dwyer looking in the best shape of his life, he will be hard to stop gaining
Strongman Winter Warriors took place at Ballynahinch Community Centre. where 15 of the strongest men were gathered to claim 10 places at the All Ireland Final in Bangor 8th April 2019. The first event was the farmers walk (125KG) in each hand. This event was dominated by the “Giant” Sean O’Hagan who blasted 30m in

Book Event


If you would like to get book an event please click here to message us directly or use any of the methods below.